Facts About Shrimp

Shrimp is considered to be seafood. There are differences between crayfish, prawns and shrimp. Prawns in the U.K. are the same thing as American shrimp. Crayfish are either the saltwater spiny lobster or freshwater crustaceans. Shrimp are also very healthy for you to eat in a regular diet. They can grow from ½ inches long to over 12 inches long depending on where they are located at. If you want to find out more about this interesting creature, take a look below for some interesting facts.

Varieties of Shrimp

Peacock mantis shrimp
Peacock mantis shrimp

There are over 128 species of shrimp alone. This doesn’t count lobsters, crabs or Thalassinideans. Some of these species include but are not limited to Penaeus Setiferus (Atlantic White Shrimp), Periclimenes Yucatanicus (spotted cleaner shrimp) and Farfan


tepenaeus Notialis (Southern Pink Shrimp). These are but three of many listings for shrimp species.

Shrimp colors

Shrimp come in many different colors such as red, white, pink, brown, rock and brine shrimp. However, there are more colors than these that can be attached to shrimp. Yellows, cherries, tigers, bees and blues can also be a part of the shrimp colors of shrimp throughout the world.

Shrimp’s ranking

Peacock mantis shrimp
Peacock mantis shrimp

Shrimp is considered to be the number one seafood on the list of seafood. One billion pounds of shrimp are eaten every year by Americans. Over five billion pounds of shrimp are produced every single year. 0.27 grams of healthy omega-3 acids are found per serving in shrimp. A shrimp can average about 6 inches while the longest ever found was at 16 inches.

Shrimp life cycle

The life cycle of shrimp will vary by location and by the species. Some can live as long as six and a half years, while some only live about a year or so. 16 different stages of life are found in shrimp from egg to full adult. Nauplius has five stages, Protozoea have three stages, Mysis has three stages, Postlarva has two stages, then the juvenile, and sub adult and adult stages are reached. Therefore, there are a lot of stages to go through to reach the adult classification.

More: What do shrimps eat?

Written by 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *